Though Panahi tragically remains imprisoned in Tehran since his arrest last July, FC editors Devika Girish and Clinton Krute were glad to be able to speak to the film’s lead actress, Mina Kavani, about her riveting performance as an Iranian exile in Turkey. They discussed Kavani’s own experiences of living in exile, what it was like to work with Panahi, and the women-led movement that continues to reverberate throughout Iran.

     

The Film Comment Podcast  Mina Kavani on Jafar Panahi s No Bears - 21The Film Comment Podcast  Mina Kavani on Jafar Panahi s No Bears - 95The Film Comment Podcast  Mina Kavani on Jafar Panahi s No Bears - 71The Film Comment Podcast  Mina Kavani on Jafar Panahi s No Bears - 22The Film Comment Podcast  Mina Kavani on Jafar Panahi s No Bears - 30The Film Comment Podcast  Mina Kavani on Jafar Panahi s No Bears - 71The Film Comment Podcast  Mina Kavani on Jafar Panahi s No Bears - 26